Saturday, January 12, 2013

JuiceBlender: MD House Speaker Announces New Committee Members, Garagiola Firmly Supports Death Penalty & More!

Below Maryland Juice highlights a few noteworthy tidbits for Free State politicos:

JUICE #1 // FUNNY: BANKRUPT MARYLAND REPUBLICANS - Maryland Juice recently caught this amusing image and caption on the #mdpolitics feed on Twitter:

Day 3 of 2013 session. I never thought they'd be so upfront about it...  #mdpolitics #annapolis 

JUICE #2 // NOT FUNNY: SEN. ROB GARAGIOLA FIRMLY SUPPORTS GOVERNMENT EXECUTIONS: With the big push progressives are making to repeal the death penalty in Maryland, it appears that they cannot yet count on support from State Senator Rob Garagiola (who was recently endorsed by numerous progressive groups like MoveOn in his recent run for Congress). Check out the following excerpt from The Baltimore Sun's coverage:

Garagiola firm on keeping death penalty

A Montgomery County senator whose vote death penalty opponents had hoped to sway this year said Friday that he is firmly committed to keeping capital punishment on the books.... Garagiola is the lone senator from Montgomery County who supports retention of the death penalty.... With his vote unavailable, the path to the minimum 24 votes to pass a bill becomes a bit narrower.

JUICE #3 // MARYLAND HOUSE SPEAKER MIKE BUSCH ANNOUNCES COMMITTEE SHUFFLES: A Maryland Juice source forwarded us the following press release from the office of Maryland House Speaker Mike Busch. The Democratic leader has made some changes to the leadership and committee membership in the Maryland House. Details below:


ANNAPOLIS, MD – House Speaker Michael E. Busch today announced committee assignments for six standing committees in the House of Delegates, as well as appointments to new leadership positions.  In the upcoming session, Appropriations, Economic Matters, and Environmental Matters each will have 24, Health & Government Operations will have 23 and Judiciary and Ways & Means will each have 22 members.

The committees are balanced to reflect the demographic, geographic and party makeup of the legislature.

The following Delegates were appointed today.  Delegates not included on this list will maintain their current committee assignments.

  • Delegate Anne Healey (District 22), Chair, House Rules and Executive Nominations Committee
  • Delegate Jay Walker (District 26), Vice Chair, House Rules and Executive Nominations Committee
  • Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (District 41), House Chair, Administrative, Executive, Legislative Review Committee
  • Delegate Frank Turner (District 13), Vice Chairman, Ways and Means Committee
  • Delegate Benjamin Barnes (District 21), Chief Deputy Majority Whip
  • Delegate Shawn Tarrant (District 40), Chief Deputy Majority Whip
  • Delegate Anne Kaiser (District 14), Vice Chair, House Democratic Caucus
  • Delegate Hattie Harrison (District 45), Chairman Emeritus
  • Delegate Rudolph Cane (District 37A), Assistant Speaker Pro Tem

  • Delegate Guy Guzzone (District 13), Chair, Public Safety & Administration Subcommittee
  • Delegate Craig Zucker (District 14), Vice Chair, Public Safety & Administration Subcommittee
  • Delegate Keith Haynes (District 44), Delegate Steve DeBoy (District 12A), and Delegate Craig Zucker (District 14) are new members of the Capital Budget Subcommittee, representing Baltimore City, Baltimore and Montgomery Counties.

  • Delegate Galen Clagett (District 3A)

  • Delegate Glen Glass (District 34B)
  • Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (District 41)

  • Delegate Eric Luedtke (District 14), Chair, Financial Resources Subcommittee
  • Delegate Don Dwyer (District 31)
  • Delegate Alonzo Washington (District 22)
# # #

No comments:

Post a Comment